News & Announcements

This three-volume work was written by John Adams while he was living abroad during the 1780s. Adams examines the 13 state constitutions, the balance of power within various kinds of governments, and the nature of republican government. In subsequent years, certain critics inaccurately attacked Adams’s work as being favorable toward monarchy and aristocracy.

January 28 2017