News & Announcements

Based on principles put forth by Jefferson a few years earlier, the Northwest Ordinance of 1787 established a three-step process for turning territories into states.  When the white population of a territory reached 60,000, territorial leaders could request statehood. Congress admitted thirteen new states to the Union between 1791 and 1840.

January 28 2017