Union Jack

Sea of Liberty  |  image

The Union Jack is the official flag of Great Britain. Its design combines the three crosses that symbolize England, Scotland, and Ireland. English monarchs claimed the crown of Ireland from the time of Henry VIII. Beginning in 1603, England and Scotland had the same king; after the Act of Union on 1707, they also shared a single Parliament.

Download Image